Meanwhile…I started my first SW placement.

I never ever expected it to be this much fun. I’m observing and helping out at an agency which provides training and work opportunities for adults with Learning Disabilities. The people who run it seem v nice and just let me poke my nose into everything that goes on there and also seem quite keen on telling me all about everything. No one is in a massive hurry and they havn’t had a student there for some uears so the service users are not used to people coming in to meet them all the time. This has really worked in my favour because they are mostly excited to talk to me and tell me all about them and make friends with me etc. Some are very enthusiastic about this. One lad’s favourite thing to talk about is horror films, gosh he LOVES them. Freddy Kruger is his gero and Nightmare 3 is the best one apparently. I know this now because he ran through it with me about every 30 minutes for the entire 6 hours I was there.
I’ve been learning Makaton with the Service Users too. If you don’t know its a basic sign language often taught to learning disabled folk who have difficulties with normal speech patterns. A collection of downs kids absolutely delighted in teaching it to me and were busily shaking my hand every time I learned a new sign – it worked! I’m getting good now!
On the first day at lunch time they were v anxious to know if I would come and sit with them to eat my sandwiches. I said ‘oh yes definitely i will just fetch them from the office and come up to the canteen in a minute’. So i went to the office and had a chinwag with the staff etc and went back into the corridor to find them all still standing there holding the door open for me in case i forgot to come!

5 Responses to “Meanwhile…I started my first SW placement.”

  1. Evan Says:

    Sounds terrific. It’s so good to have a job that is personally rewarding, and you know you are contributing to the well being of others, and not the pocket of the man upstairs. Blessings. E

  2. sungirltan Says:

    thankyou my friend.
    i just picked up a message on facebook from an old friend – re my career choice he said simply ‘better to give than to recieve’ im all good with that xx

  3. pinkjellybaby Says:

    oh hello!!! is everyone here now?!

  4. Fabulous Says:

    Hey Tan. I just realised that you commented with a new blog. Welcome to WordPress.

  5. sungirltan Says:

    hi pinky – i cant use vox cos im a mac chick and well as you know 20six just DIED! but pete made my blog pretty for me so im happy now.
    fab – thankyooooooooooo

Leave a Reply

