In the Navy…..

I went to the Naval Ball last night. It was quite an expereince. Without wishing to offend anyone…..Sailors are geeks! Well they are either enourmously fat OR gangly. Many have accents so posh you can’t understand them – in the style of tim Nice But dim from Harry Enfield. Wrens on the other hand………favour cake shaped dresses in Quality Street colours. Not saying a word. Prior to arrival I was a bit self concious I was overdressed in my silk and lace tea dress. I was wrong!

Socially it was a bit odd. My date’s chums (all boys) wre v nice to me, as were all the officers etc (except for being quite surprised that I am a Social Worker and that i dont just stand about looking decorative for a living) however during the whole evening one wren came and said hello. One. The rest were a bit snarly. Actually alot to the point where I thought i must be imaginging it until my date said ‘I can’t believe them – i feel really bad but i’m not sure what to do about it!’ Bless him.

4 Responses to “In the Navy…..”

  1. pinkjellybaby Says:

    jealous, clearly 😉

  2. Pete Says:

    I’m with Pinky, they’re probably not used to lovely young ladies and felt jealous x

  3. LondonGirl Says:

    Bless him indeed. And yes, blokes probably just really awkward with women – wrens don’t count.

  4. Midnight Says:

    I think it’s all that sitting around on ships and shore leave. The so called senior service seem more like couch potatoes to me and I encounter a lot of them. I had to suffer a particularly annoying one at the dinner table yesterday waffling on about how fat his wife was and yet he was about as portly a guy as I’d ever seen in a uniform (almost).

Leave a Reply

