Stressed Eric

Well….I should be in a meeting this morning but it was cancelled. Blog hiatus ends abruptly.

Tomorrow is hand in date for my interim portfolio. In non social work student language that means big folder full of placement evaluation work including an extortianate amount of information condensed into a small work count and some complicated graphs on which we have to plot our progress toward percieved and enforced learning goals.

We are supposed to include an indepth piece of service user feedback. I arranged to go and collect this today and the client postponed it. Cue lots of ripping out hair and panicking. My uni tutor bless her responded to my anguished email by phoning me up at work and pretty much talking me down from the ceiling. Apparently i must calm down and hand in what i have. *breathe*

Mean while……

I had my second practice observation on tuesday. It went surprisingly well! I know i know i worry like its going out of fashion. My assessor was a Families Officer in the Navy. and it showed. Military precision doesn’t quite cover it! He made notes that looked like a film script. (so we arrive at the house, and then we went in, and then you said…and then the service user said, and then you said…and so on). I really couldn’t fault him and he said nice thinks like ‘you fulfill your professional responsibility’ and ‘your assessment style is thorough and structured’. Service users commented that i made them feel at ease and they liked my approach, suggestions etc and were really happy with the service.

Beaming!

SGT

14 Responses to “Stressed Eric”

  1. Lisa Says:

    You approach your work like I approach mine, it seems. For me, when it’s time for a training session, I prepare, get it as close to perfect as I can get it, and then worry that it’s not going to go well.

    Good for you! That is something to beam about! Sincere compliments like that make all the worry and preparation worth it, don’t they.

  2. pinkjellybaby Says:

    well done, you put me to shame! 🙂

  3. Dave59r Says:

    Lav ya…. Grrr

  4. floatykatja Says:

    Hooray!

    ps – did Pete design your layout, perchance? It’s just that I’m currently viewing in IE, due to being at work, and it doesn’t work quite right. Much though the world does need to use Firefox, sometimes we just can’t! 😉

  5. sungirltan Says:

    kat- pete is my Head of Design, yes.

  6. amillionpieces Says:

    Bravo!

    Katja dear, I must ask which IE you’re using as it seems to work okay on mine? What’s the problem?

  7. sungirltan Says:

    thnax everyone xx

  8. floatykatja Says:

    Ooer – I’m at home again now, on trusty FF, and so it’s obviously fine. I think it was IE 6 at work though, and it was on the main page only. The text all shifted over to the left, as did the header. Strangely enough, though, when viewing the comments, all was fine. Meh. Stoopid IE.

    Sorry to sidetrack, Tan xx

  9. hoverfrog Says:

    I’m using IE and it looks fine. One could even go so far as to say it looks spiffing.

    AND well done you.

  10. amillionpieces Says:

    Ah, well, you know how I loathe IE. Isn’t the Liz Taylor pic Tan found the best thing ever though?

  11. sungirltan Says:

    ‘peter j’ – he knows which sie his bread is buttered!

  12. Dave59r Says:

    New blog…..

    New blog…..

    New blog……

    😉

  13. sungirltan Says:

    i’ve already written a new one but not posted it. anyway i dont think you’re there anyway!!

  14. elpollo Says:

    I liked your blog name!

Leave a Reply

