Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

On the one hand….

  • Shep arrived safely. He is fine.
  • Its nice to be back in the palace (i must stop calling it that now since it is my house and that makes it a bit pretentious.
  • My dress for the charity ball (see below for photo) had arrived. It is FABULOUS. I fond some shoes in Schuh which are like the ones Miranda’s waters break over in Sex and the City. Actually i’ll find a photo. I want to get Shep a shirt or something to match me.

On the other hand…..

  • I still have to move.
  • I’ve lost weight again even though I have been eating a bit.
  • Suspect I may have sinusitis again.
  • My progress metting at uni was awful and I cried buckets. This has not been an easy year for me. The expectations are high for me to spill my guts about various issues which impinge on my studies. I continue to decline – that is my right. However my tutor is now insisting on a dyslexia assessment ( I didn’t get one in the end last time because my Mother (a teacher) insists that I can’t possibly have it). I might look it up though and see. What was the most awful about the meeting was the accusation that I can’t cope this year. Since I have not failed any modules yet or demonstrated any attendence issues I think this was quite an unfair judegement, never mind being very unhelpful and unconstructive.

ps….shoes….

shoes.jpg

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil”

  1. amillionpieces Says:

    Glad shep is back and you’re excited about the ball.

    Really hope that you get better soon. I’m sorry to hear about your progress meeting, it doesn’t sound like they’ve made very fair judgements at all as your grades have been really good and you’re a hard worker. I don’t think the dyslexia test is a bad idea, (which is not to say that I think you’re dyslexic or disagree with your mum!) they talked about giving me one too but didn’t in the end, I tend to think everyone should be given them at secondary school so it destigmatises it, it’s far more common than people might think and so many people grow up without it being recognised and thus struggle at school and college. (Which you’re not, but you’re super intelligent, so have an advantage!) x

  2. pinkjellybaby Says:

    Pictures please, of you in dress and shoes etc.

    I’m sorry you’re finding things hard hun, perhaps you need a break? xx

  3. sungirltan Says:

    here are the shoes! maybe dress photo soon xx

  4. Lisa Says:

    Nice shoes! Sorry about the school thing, though, and the weight thing. Sounds like it’s time for a cocktail in a nice hot bath. πŸ™‚ Take care of yourself and try to focus on fun things. That’s my advice. πŸ™‚

  5. punctuation Says:

    Whatever happened to positive reinforcement? What a load of crap. What leads them to believe you are dyslexic (as I type that I realise the irony that it’s actually quite a hard word to spell properly, isn’t life bizarre)?

    So you’ve not failed any modules and your attendance is good – so what’s the problem? They are predicting you will not be able to cope with this year based on what kind of trend or evidence? Tan, that’s really really crap of them. Hooray to them if there is a problem with dyslexia (I spelt it wrong that time, thank God for Firefox’s spell checker) – but it just seems a little odd for them to being quite so negative at a time when you need encouragement and illustrations of best practice to follow.

    Chill out – these people are not always right are they?

    πŸ™‚

  6. Dave59r Says:

    As you told me………..your inquisitors didnt state: “your not coping” until they had pressed you on a personal issue from last year that you had already informed was not for discussion….

    You “not coping” wasnt on their list until they had seen you cry….that then presented them with an opportune moment for kicking someone when they were low….they ignored your work performance and were blinded by your immediate emotional state!

    They behaved very unprofessional.

Leave a Reply

