I’m pushing an elephant up the stairs…I’m pushing out punchlines that were never there….

I had my long awaited ed. psych assessment on friday. The one I was pretty much forced to have. It was quite taxing. Mrs ed. psych agreed that yes, I am v smart but I have a distinct problem with information relay skills. In layman’s terms this means she thinks I have ADD and dyslexia. Possibly bad enough for a ritalin prescription.

The dyslexia irks me a little bit but the ADD was no surprise whatsoever. I’ve been telling the world at large I can’t concentrate like other people for the last two years and no one listens to me.

Meanwhile I must have most tests done.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “I’m pushing an elephant up the stairs…I’m pushing out punchlines that were never there….”

  1. Perpetual Says:

    At the risk of being seen to be offensive (I’m not), I sometimes think that a diagnosis of ADD is sometimes an easy way out for the medical profession to quickly tick a box and move onto the next patient. It is almost as if it is the de rigour explanation for someone who can’t concentrate on something for too long.

    Almost the same can be said for dyslexia in some cases. Can you get a second opinion?

  2. sungirltan Says:

    i’ve seen al the scores though – theres a definite area of learning i fall behind in.
    also add is connected with anxiety and a sure as hell have that!

  3. pinkjellybaby Says:

    well knowing something is up is halfway to getting sorted out…. x

  4. Matt Says:

    obviously I’m guessing you don’t want to go on med’s!
    What benefit or help will you receive having these identified, as far as I remember when at uni you could get a free laptop & more time in exams.

    I never bothered to do the dyslexia test, although I do know some which abused the system for the free laptop.

    In the future would you have to tell potential employers about these issues?

  5. sungirltan Says:

    matt – meds – i might.
    telling employers? no chance!!

  6. Dave59r Says:

    Having know peeps with both dyslexia & ADD (both with mild cases)…..and having very close relationship with SGT i can catagorically say that SGT is as dyslexic as the next English degree graduate who has no probs spelling, writing, understanding written instructions and writing written instructions………

    One of the tests she was given was for her to spell words not uttered in the UK for the last 75 years……”pusillamious!!” being the only one she mispelled!!!

    As for ADD…a little less easy to pin down….BUT…..she gets worried and anxious about issues in her life again as much as the next degree student who is head an heels above her peers and has serious emotional issues from her past (see past blogs for a good idea)…..

    Yes….she has probs concentrating……but we all do at some times during our life……as for spelling, well ive had a pocket dictionary with me for the last 19 years since leaving my spelling machine (mum) behind in 89…..and im not dysxklect….just lazy!!

    Think the Mrs Ed Psyd needs to get out and meet normal peeps again….and stop believing all she reads!!!!

  7. sungirltan Says:

    ‘serious emotional issues’?

Leave a Reply

