What SGT did Next

One of my aunties has taken to sending me vouchers for christmas and birthdays for the shop which will not be named. I worked for them for far too long back in the day and well…less said about that the better.

At christmas I was rather pleased as the shop was selling those nice patent flats that look like doll shoes. I also like their home wares (that may be why she keeps sending them) but Shep and I have more than enough of everything just now.

I must have done about 5 circuits of the Drake Circus flagship store. Its no good. Firstly I am a size 6 in that shop which limits everything. I can’t quite understand their logic since I am a 10 in Topshop and H&M and an 8 in Miss Selfridge but their clothes are HUGE!

Secondly their version of fashion is this horrible diluted, mumsy, middle of the road, no too low necklines, no too short skirts, its the politically correct of apparel. Gah. Even Marks and Spencer make sexier gear.

So I am still trundling around, rejecting everything. I start thinking….’hmm it’s v hot in the flat, maybe i’ll get some linen trousers to wear around the house’. I select a v wide leg, dove grey pair. They look ok on the hanger. I tried them on, ripped them off imediately and sprinted out of the fitting room! I would say I looked like my mother, but actually she likes tailoring too much and wouldn’t give the offending item wardrobe space. And she’d complain she’d have to shear off at least a foot off the hem. We are very dinky in our family.

I can’t do it. I’m just not ready for middle of the road, mediocre.

I spent my voucher on a pair of this season aviators instead. Another pair of sunglasses which I abosolutely do not need. But I left the store with my soul intact. These are they…

8 Responses to “What SGT did Next”

  1. pinkjellybaby Says:

    i’ve seen some very cheeky gold rimmed Ray Ban aviators…. i might have to treat myself!

  2. sungirltan Says:

    pinky i’m dying for the ray ban one’s but can’t quite justify the £100 just yet!

  3. Dave59r Says:

    Very nice 🙂

  4. Perpetual Says:

    Very cool sunglasses.

  5. Sal Says:

    I have an account at said store. Then again, I’m 29 going on 55 and have been since I was 12, as well you know 😦

    PS Have found a pic of Rick on his company’s website. Will email a link via FB and you can guess which one he is. x

  6. amillionpieces Says:

    Love the sunglasses! I need a new pair of Aviator’s as my H&M ones that have lasted well over a year now have the prob that one lens keeps popping out.

    I was surprised when I started reading as I didn’t think you seemed like you’d shop their for clotheses. If you think about it though, you’ll figure why they size how they do.

  7. sungirltan Says:

    petey – i do NOT shop there for clotheses. however when i have sprogged i quite like their babygros

  8. pinkjellybaby Says:

    loving the new header!

Leave a Reply

