Meanwhile…

1. I have started my placement at the charity which helps refugees and asylum seekers. I think it will be ok there. People were nice to me and I didn’t feel too much like a hopeless twat which is the extent of what I worry about really these days. There are 13 students there zalready who all seem v happy and enthusiastic which is comforting although to be fair I had a great time at my placement last year just doing my own thing.
2. The only downside to the above is that I imagine I will have to waste space in my portfolio having that rather dull value debate about whether accepting hospitality from service users compromises professionalism. It makes me quite mad. The succint version of my thoughts are that if an individual/family has the indignity imposed on them of having to accept services which they might not want but nevertheless have no means to pay you for then denying them the basic courtesy of making you a cup of tea is just bloody rude.
3. Shep and I have been watching Our Friends in the North (again as he’s never seen it). If you haven’t seen it you should.
4. We have no snow but its bloody cold.
5. I can’t help gloating a bit about more shop closures. Its all gone a bit survival of the fittest I think.
6. I am lurching toward the the end of my Direct Payments essay and must begin the child protection one imminently.
7. Did anyone watch Panorama last night? It was about sexual bullying in schools. Any thoughts?

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Meanwhile…”

  1. pinkjellybaby Says:

    I didn’t watch the Panorama (no English TV) but I read an article on it and to be honest, it just scared the crap out of me. I can well believe that kids are getting up to these sorts of things now and think that it’s acceptable, what bothers me is when nothing is done about it….why is no one taking these kids (and their parents) in hand? Are these not the ones that are then going out in their ‘gangs’ and causing all sorts of trouble?
    It seems to be a similar situation to the knife and gun culture, everyone’s aware of it but no one has a clue where to start to eradicate it.

  2. sungirltan Says:

    pinky – well quite. when we were teens we were raised by the mumsy but well meaning Just Seventeen and the like who preached ‘dont do aynthing you feel uncomfortable with’ – what was so wrong with that!!
    One of the victims on the show was a 13 year old girl who after a time had reported an incident of being indecently assaulted whislt queueingup for an english class. her parents hit the roof and eventually the boy was moved classes but the girl was completely villified by her peers for daring to object!! – was bloody maddness.

  3. blue soup Says:

    I had this on in the background while I was writing my essay so I didn’t really pay that much attention to it, which is a shame because when I saw the advert, I really wanted to watch it. What I did see was pretty harrowing – what’s happening to our kids these days to make this sort of thing so common?

  4. sungirltan Says:

    bs – agreed – it was harrowing. i think (know) my teens were v sheltered in comparisom and i feel lucky.

Leave a Reply

