Meanwhile, back in Social Work land…

My career is at risk. I came so close to punching a housing benefit officer in the face on friday. He really was a rude, officious, twat. And he looked like he’d done his own highlights with loo bleach. But I digress….
On the one hand I feel sorry for people who do jobs like that. The daily (hourly?) risk of being shouted, sworn at and or generally abused must be pretty high. I’m not sure I could handle although it was a job i applied for years ago in Leicester when i was fed up of working for Next (when was i ever not fed up of working for Next?). On the other hand surely that job is more bearable and possibly less hostile if one addresses people by name and not keep calling them ‘the claimant’. A lot of the Job Centre folk seem to have this approach too. I am confused by it all. Social Workers spend alot of time learning about effective communication skills but it seems as if a lot of other public sector employees do quite the opposite.

At uni, however I must choose an area of mental health to write a paper on. My first thought was anorexia but I have recently re-read Prozac Nation so might lean toward depression in young women with some conclusions drawn about whether its class dependent in both prevalence and rates of diagnosis.

8 Responses to “Meanwhile, back in Social Work land…”

  1. Dick Says:

    Presumably middle class. How an earth did the bourgeoisie cope before prozac came along?

  2. sungirltan Says:

    Well apparently in the 90’s no american was more than 3 people away from someone on prozac so frankly, f**k knows!

  3. Lisa Says:

    So, if I was in the UK, how many people would I be away from someone on Prozac? 🙂

  4. Dave59r Says:

    Sorry….are we on about 3 people away as in relationship ‘my brothers, girlfriends friend’?

    Or 3 people as in distance??…..in that case are they stood up or laid down????

  5. sungirltan Says:

    lisa – i dunno – its an amaerican book.

    shep – i see you were working hard this morning. Degrees of separation are like this….Shep – David Hasslehoff = Shep lives with SGT, who has worked with the daughters of the Hoff, who are obviously the sprogs off the Hoff. In this case there are only 3 peopple between Shep and the Hoff. Ya?

  6. Matt Says:

    3 people away from someone on prozac sounds like a misleading stat
    as it’s only halfway through the six degrees of separation & that’s everyone knowing everyone on the planet (I know 6deg is only an often used synonym)

  7. gemmak Says:

    I can’t get in! :o(

  8. Dave59r Says:

    SGT: My life is more complete for having met you……

    P.S. Remind me in future to inform people of mine and the Hoffs close friendship xx

Leave a Reply

