Beauty and The Geek

Years ago, when I exporting diamonds for a living and trying to find myself I suppose, I had a co worker I was very chummy with. He was like a 25 year old Peter Kay – chubby, dishevelled and very dry and funny. That place was as boring as hell to work at but we entertained eachother by laughing at other people there for many months. He was about as northern as you can get and had ended up in the Leicester after following his girlfriend there while she studied. The girlfriend was equally chubby and cheerful and they seemed happy and well suited. When she finsihed her course they headed back up north and bought a house together close to their families. That was 5 years ago.

About a year ago I got a friend request on facebook from a name I well remembered but a face……..Peter Kay had a makeover, lost several stone, discovered fake tan, topman and had taken up residence at Toni and Guy. I was quite stunned. not in a good way. Relationship status – single, but soon replaced by a conveyor belt of page 3 stunna type girlfriends with major hair extensions and plastic boobs.

I had a trawl through his pictures the other day, no family, friends, fun like most people but a plethora of wannabe male model pouting poses – the one with the Beckham style leather jacket with nothing underneath made me laugh the most. All I could think of was the film Zoolander – and blue steel!!

And then I read his status from a few weeks ago….’there must be more to life than being really really ridiculously good looking’. I nearly wee’d .And wondered about post ironic irony.

8 Responses to “Beauty and The Geek”

  1. pinkjellybaby Says:

    Sometimes, I’m glad I’m not skinny any more…I think if I was, I would be one of those annoying girls who walks round in short shorts, just because…

    …and I hate that kind of person.

  2. sungirltan Says:

    hmm – theres something all consuming about perceived attractiveness. kind of like girls who get thier knockers done claiming ‘it was for me!’ but then spend an enternity getting them out for anyone who will take a look.

  3. Matt Says:

    haha I have friends in both camps the good looking navel gazing types & the more scruffy type & yes the I don’t care (not that they don’t care but are not obsessed by it) what I look like types do seem to have more fun.

  4. sungirltan Says:

    aww matt i dunno that he’s not having any fun – he’s defintely having it away! but….in my opinion he used to be more fun.

  5. Dave59r Says:

    The ‘ridiculously good looking’ guy…..your on about me aren’t you!!?? 😉

  6. sungirltan Says:

    read the post properly you numpty x

  7. CoatMan Says:

    That’s rather sad…

  8. sungirltan Says:

    coatman – sad that i think that way or sad the way my mate changed?

Leave a Reply

