Now that I have healed somewhat…

The little goblin is now nearly 3 weeks old. The following are some thoughts from the last few weeks:

1. Being induced, starting labour and ending up with an emergency c section was about the least fun i’ve ever had. For those sans children, contractions were excruciating (still not as bad as root canal but still pretty bad). The breathing technique that makes them more bearable is v effective (had to be expereinced to be believed by me) BUT you cannot do anything elese at the same time as the breathing thing otherwise it won’t work. This is particularly unhelpful when you have a doctor and an aneasthetist insisting on reading out all the consent forms to you and not seeming to understand this whole contraction business.

2. Panic aside the c section was ok. I can see why women elect to have them now even though i’d have been critical of that in the past. Having the labour pain amounting to nothing and then having the c section was a joke. Also this urban myth about c sections interfering with important baby bonding is an outrageous lie. My baby came out very serene and latched on to feed less than an hour after she was born and seemed to have no doubt who I was.

3. Not all midwives are nice. Angry night time MW practically accused me of morphine addiction the last night I was in hospital. I asked for painkillers because I couldn’t sit down to feed the baby. Nice day time MW was v cross about this (the other MW, not me).

4. Morphine will mess with your head. Especially a 4 day bender on it. It also makes you vomit. A lot. Shep didn’t quite believe about this until I threw up gallons in front of him.

5. Despite all the cakes I ate in the last month my baby was so dinky when she hatched all the clothes I bought were far too big. My Mum had to go and buy her premature baby clothes and when I brought her home she had only two babygros I could put on her. She has a few more now though.

6. Although recovery from the c section has been quick, the first few days were really hard. Its very frsutrating to not be able to sit up, laugh or cough or sneeze without it hurting alot. Its not very dignified either. What with the maternity pads and the breast pads (i abandoned the disposeable pants early on), you do feel like quite the invalid for a while. However, the rest of the world expects you to be an invalid for a lot longer and seem amazed that you can get up and go places and manage the baby.

7. Looking after the baby is easy. Its the tiredness that makes it hard work. And the laundry.

8. If you breastfeed then midwives and health visitors will praise you lots. But other people will go to great lengths to justify why they didn’t – whether you judge them or not.

9. Baby sick is very tenacious! This morning it went straight through the moses basket liner, then the wicker and made a puddle on the wood floor underneath.

10. People love to buy baby gifts. My daughter already has an extensive wardrobe of far too big clothes to rival Victoria Beckham.

11 Responses to “Now that I have healed somewhat…”

  1. blue soup Says:

    As said elsewhere, congratulations on the birth of your little one, and you sound so well too. I hope motherhood brings you great joy x

  2. pinkjellybaby Says:

    🙂 it sounds like you are doing wonderfully. Congratulations xxx

  3. Dave59r Says:

    Hmmmm…..I never thought you werent going to chuck….just thought you needed feeding!…me wrong, you right!! xx

  4. Lisa Says:

    1. made me laugh because I always say that root canals are way worse than child birth.

    You got morphine? No fair. I didn’t get a thing for pain afterward, but then I didn’t have a c-section, either.

    I couldn’t hack breast feeding. I tried and failed, and don’t really care. 😀

    Congrats on your baby girl! X

  5. Hannah Says:

    I’ve never had a root canal -and now I NEVER want one!! Congrats again, you seem to be taking to motherhood like a duck to water. And maternity pads are awful aren’t they? But somehow you don’t care…. x

  6. sungirltan Says:

    thanks everyone. hannah – seriously – noone deserves root canal!

  7. Fabulous Says:

    I found myself nodding to a lot of this. I had a horrid mw after my girl was born. She kept clicking her heels (the baby) to wake her up so she could feed. When you are so out of it, it is very hard to stay stop it.
    My cousin had labour then a C section. Doesnt sound nice at all but at least the bub came out safely and thats the main thing.
    No one quite tells you how much blood there is going to be afterwards do they?. Its not nice at all.
    As for the sick. I ended up propping up the moses basket at the head end with a little book. Means that the baby is slightly elevated and prevents the sick coming. Esp good late at night when you cant be bothered to clean up sick. Give it a try. Its is surprising what a little amount does.. i mean the size of the book.

  8. sungirltan Says:

    fabs – i tried the book tip straight away – i think it is helping a bit!! thank you!!
    I was warned that midwives present a less than united front at ante natal and they were right but i didn’t expect to be scolded like a child…or blatantly lied to! That said…my community midwife who i really didn’t warm to at first i ended up getting on really well with and she was very sympathetic about my hospital nightmares when i came home and offered to go through all the hosp notes with me whenever i am ready to try and make sense of what happened. This afternoon i am taking Z for her health visitor follow up with yet another different person…we shall see!

  9. Fabulous Says:

    Oh i am so glad that it is helping somewhat.
    Hope the follow up went ok.
    I still havent hatched and am prob going for the knitting needle next week (the profesh one not an actual knitting needle)

  10. Midnight Says:

    Ha ha I can so relate to everything in this post (well as an oberver and Dad obviously).

    Time really flies (when you are not in some sleep deprived zombie mode) and the little un sure does change rapidly, so enjoy that newborn stage, it goes all too quickly!

    Oh and make sure you get plenty of photos and video footage, I forgot most of the time!

  11. angela w Says:

    That sounds just like my experience! My little girl is 6 months old now and it goes so fast! I still have some numbness in my legs from my csection though – but i live in the US and have no insurance so i’m stuck with it. Oh well… Good luck though!

Leave a Reply

